Ruth H. Baxter



Managing Partner, Crawford & Baxter, P.S.C., Attorneys at Law, Carrollton, Kentucky (successor firm to Berry & Floyd, P.S.C., Carrollton office) (1994 to present)

Partner, Berry & Floyd, P.S.C., Attorneys at Law, Carrollton, Kentucky, 

(1980 to 1994)

Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Protection and Special Prosecutions Divisions, Frankfort, Kentucky (1977-1980)

Law Clerk, United States Tax Court, Washington, D.C. (Summer 1976)


Juris Doctorate, University of Kentucky College of Law (May, 1977)

Bachelor of Arts, cum laude, Murray State University (May, 1974), with triple majors in English, French and Political Science


Admitted to practice, Commonwealth of Kentucky (October, 1977)

 Admitted to practice, U. S. District Court, Western Division (February, 1979)     

 Admitted to practice, U. S. District Court, Eastern Division (October, 1979)

 Admitted to practice, United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (October, 1987)


AV Preeminent, Martindale Hubbell   (Over 25 years)          


Board Certified in Civil Trial Advocacy, National Board of Trial Advocacy (May 1998 to present)

Kentucky Bar Association: Member, Ethics Committee (2008 to present); Ethics Hotline Member for SCt. District 6  (2017 to present);

Instructor, New Lawyer’s Program (1993 to 2019 ); Task Force on Lawyer Advertising (1989 to 2004); Attorneys Advertising Commission (1984 to 2002); Delegate, House of Delegates, 1982 to 1992. 

President, Kentucky Bar Association for Women (1994 to 1996); Member, Board of Directors (1992 to 1997); Founding Director (1992)


Member, Kentucky Association for Justice(formerly Academy of Trial Attorneys)

Member, Kentucky Bankers Association, Bank Counsel Division

Member, Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Leadership and Scholarship Honorary Society

Member, Phi Delta Phi Legal Fraternit


President and  Director, Lawyers’ Mutual Insurance Company of Kentucky (1995 to present; Executive Committee 2001 to present; President 2008 to present) 

Master Commissioner, Carroll County in the 15th Judicial District (1989 to present)

Member, Kentucky Supreme Court Rules Committee (2007 to 2018)

Member, 15th Judicial Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission (1993 to 2001)         

Commissioner, Executive Branch Ethics Commission (1994 to 1997; Chair, 1995 to 1997)

Special Justice, Kentucky Supreme Court (2013; 2015)

Special Chief Justice, Kentucky Supreme Court (June, 1990 to 1991) for Case No. 90-SC-130)

Commissioner, Kentucky Commission on Human Rights (1986 to 1993) (Chair 1991 to 1993)

Member, Carroll County Foster Care Review Board (1986 to 1989)

Member, Lt. Governor's Commission on Tomorrow - Planning for

the Future (1984 to 1985)

Member, Governor's Consumer Advisory Council (1980 to 1983)


Instructor, Lawyers as Leaders

Moderator/Instructor, New Lawyer Training, Kentucky Bar Association (1994 to Present)

Certified Instructor, Kentucky Real Estate Commission (1993 to 2004)

Lecturer, Kentucky Bar Association and Northern Kentucky Bar Associations Continuing Legal Education Seminars (1982 to present)

Guest Instructor, Maysville Community College 

Adjunct Professor, Northern Kentucky University, (1988 to 1992)

Adjunct Professor, Midway College, Department of Paralegal Studies (1978 to 1982)


Director, Food Pantry of Carroll County, Inc. (2016 to present)

President and Director, Carroll County Public Library Foundation (2005 to present)

Director/Incorporator/Treasurer, Ohio Valley United Charities,  Inc. (1998 to present)

Past President, Past Vice-President, Past Secretary and Director, Board of  Directors, Carroll County Community Development Corporation, Carrollton, Kentucky (1981 to 1990; 1993 to 2016)

Member, University of Kentucky College of Law Alumni Board (1998 to 2006)

Secretary and Trustee, Carroll County Public Library Board of Trustees  (1996 to 2005)

Treasurer and Legal Advisor, Educational Excellence Foundation of Carroll County, Inc. (1989 to 1998; 2018 to present)

Legal Advisor, Carroll County High School Mock Trial Team (1992 to 1998)

Member, Design Standards Review Board, City of Carrollton (1984 to 1989)

Member, Carroll County Jail Task Force (1989 to 1992)

Representative and Vice-Chair, Northern Kentucky Area Development District (NKADD) Community and Economic Development Council (1982 to 1986)

Treasurer, Carrollton Arts Board, Inc. (1986 to 1988)

Chair, Carroll County Recreation, Tourist and Convention Commission, Carrollton, Kentucky (1981 to 1984)

 Past President and Member, Carroll County Chamber of Commerce, Carrollton, Kentucky (1980 to present)



Co-recipient of 2017 Kentucky Bar Service Award presented by the Kentucky Bar Association as member of Ethics Hotline 

Kentucky SuperLawyer (Corporate Counsel/ Real Estate) (2008 through 2016)

2002 Carroll County Outstanding Leader Award

2000 Kentucky Bar Service Award presented by the Kentucky Bar Association

1998 Justice Thomas B. Spain Award for Outstanding Service in Continuing Legal Education, Kentucky Bar Association, Continuing Legal Education Commission

1998 Northern Kentucky Area Development District (NKADD) Community Leadership Award

 1996 Kentucky Chamber of Commerce “Volunteer of the Year” Award

1995 Carroll County Chamber of Commerce Community Service Award

1982 Voluntary Service Award, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

1982 "Outstanding Kentuckian Award" awarded by Lt.  Gov. Martha Layne Collins   


1981 "Young Career Woman of Kentucky", Kentucky Federation of

Business and Professional Women 

1974 "Kentucky College Woman of the Year"

1974 Outstanding Senior Woman, Murray State University 

1974 Who's Who in American Colleges and Universities